Ode to Billy Thompson, on the Anniversary of His Death

October 15, 2013 § Leave a comment

Friends, Texans, countrymen, lend me your ears;
I come to re-bury Billy Thompson, not to praise him.
The evil that men do lives after them;
What good there may be is interred with their bones;
So let it be with Billy Thompson.

I know little of Billy Thompson; no one alive can claim to. But from what I have read, he had considerable charm and few redeeming virtues.

He was lucky to have had a faithful brother like Ben Thompson to look after him.

How ironic then, that church going and family man Ben Thompson died with his boots on in a hail of bullets, while Billy died with his boots off in a Catholic hospital bed surrounded by sisters of mercy. Some say he even repented while breathing his final breaths. I cannot say.

But here I am to speak what I do know.
His family did love him once, not without cause:
But what cause holds you then, to mourn for him?
O judgment! thou art fled to brutish beasts,
And men have lost their reason. Bear with me;
Your hearts are in the coffin there with Billy,
And I must pause till mine comes back to me.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ode to Billy Thompson, on the Anniversary of His Death at The Blunderbuss.

meta

